nbpts logo

PULASKI COUNTY, Ark -- Five Pulaski County Special School District teachers are newly certified from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

Congratulations to Taylor Columbus (Crystal Hill Elementary), Tonya Jackson (Chenal Elementary), Dana James (Lawson Elementary), Ellen Morris (Joe T.  Robinson Middle), and Samantha Russell-Runyon (Sylvan Hills Elementary).

In order to become certified, teachers must demonstrate evidence of the positive effect they have on student learning and exhibit a deep understanding of their students and content knowledge.

The national board certification was designed to develop, retain, and recognize accomplished teachers and to generate ongoing improvement in schools nationwide. More than 3,000 Arkansas teachers have achieved national board certification.

Taylor Columbus

Tonya Jackson

Dana James

Ellen Morris

Samantha Russell-Runyon